Australian Skilled Immigration Points Requirements

Australian Skilled Immigration Points Requirements

SkillSelect is the latest online program created by the Australian government that allows skilled workers to migrate to Australia to be considered for a skilled Australian visa.

The skilled employees have to apply an Expression of Interest (EOI) via SkillSelect to begin the application process. An expression of interest (EOI) is a method of applying to demonstrate your interest in applying for a skilled visa to immigrate to Australia.

The Skillselect method is based on points, with applicants earning points from age to work experience for qualifications. To get issued for the visa, applicants must score at least 60 points.

The following tables provide a detailed overview of how Skillselect Visas are awarded points.

Australian Skilled Immigration Points Requirements Criteria

• Nominated

• Occupation

• Age

• English language proficiency

• Skilled employment

• Educational qualifications

• Australian qualifications

• Regional study

• Community language skills

• Spouse/partner skills and qualifications

• Professional year

• Nominations and sponsorship (Subclasses 190 and 489 only)

Nominated Occupation

In order to be qualified to apply under the General Skilled Migration Program, applicants must nominate a skilled occupation on the Australian Skilled Occupations List (SOL) or the Consolidated Sponsored Occupations List (CSOL) depending on their form of visa; and also must have their skills assessed for their occupation by the appropriate assessing authority.
Applicants for the following visas must nominate an occupation on the Skilled Occupations List (SOL)

Graduate Temporary (Subclass 485) Visa (Graduate work stream only)
Skilled Independent Visa (subclass 189)
Skilled Regional (Subclass 887) Visa
**Applicants for the following visas must nominate an occupation on the Consolidated Sponsored Occupations List (CSOL):

Skilled – Nominated (subclass 190) Visa
Skilled – Nominated or Sponsored Provisional (Subclass 489) Visa
Temporary Work (Skilled) visa (subclass 457)


Applicants are graded based on which age group they fall into when applying, where the applicant’s ages between 25 and 32 gain the most points. and Those aged 45 and above gets no points.

Age: Points:
• 18 – 24 • 25
• 25- 32 • 30
• 33 – 39 • 25
• 40 – 44 • 15
• 45 – 49 • 0

English Language Proficiency

People from native English speaking countries and candidates who have been completed a tertiary degree (equivalent to an Australian Bachelor’s or higher qualification) from a university where English is the primary language do not need to take an English language proficiency exam.

Most Skillselect applicants are expected to take an IELTS (International English Language Testing System). However, in order to get points for Proficient English language skills, the IELTS test is a must for all applicants.

English language proficiency (IELTS score) Points:
• Superior (IELTS score of 8 or more) • 20
• Proficient (IELTS score of 7 or more) • 10
• Competent (IELTS score of 6 or more) • 0

Skilled Employment

Applicants are awarded work experience points in a skilled occupation, either in Australia or elsewhere. Experience must be in a nominated occupation on Australia’s Skilled Occupations List or an occupation closely linked to earning points for eligible jobs and must have been obtained in the last ten years.

Skilled employment experience gained from inside and outside Australia, get different points. You can add points from both tables but the maximum total points you will get are not more than 20 points.

Length of skilled employment
WITHIN Australia (within last ten years):
• 1 year • 5
• 3 year • 10
• 5 year • 15
• 8 year • 20
Length of skilled employment
OUTSIDE of Australia (within last ten years):
• 3 year • 5
• 5 year • 10
• 8 year • 15

Educational Qualifications

Only the highest qualification degree of applicants are awarded.

Qualification: Points:
• Doctorater • 20
• Bachelor’s or Master’s degree • 15
• Australian Diploma or trade qualification • 10
• Award or qualification recognized by the assessing
authority in the skilled occupation assessment
• 10

Australian Qualifications

Australian qualifications: Points:
• Any degree, diploma, or trade qualification gained
in Australia after studying at least 2 years
• 5

Regional Study

Only the highest qualification degree of applicants are awarded.

Regional study qualifications: Points:

Regional study qualifications
• 5

Community Language Skills

If applicants have translator/interpreter level language skills in one of Australia’s designated community languages, then they can gain 5 points. These skills must be recognized by Australia’s National Accreditation Authority for Translators and Interpreters (NAATI).

Language skills: Points:
• NAATI recognized translator/interpreter level skills in a community language • 5

Spouse/ Partner Skills and Qualifications

In order to gain points, the spouse/partner must meet the Australian General Skilled Migration basic requirements (listed above) for age, English language proficiency, and nominated occupation.

Spouse/partner skills and qualifications: Points:
• Spouse/partner meets basic requirementse • 5

Professional Year

Professional Year: Points:
• Completed a professional year in Australia in the last 4 yearse • 5

Nominated and Sponsorship (Subclass 190 and Subclass 489 only)

Sponsorship or nomination: Points:
• Nomination by a State or Territory government under
a State Migration Plan for a Skilled Nominated visa (subclass 190) application
• 5
• Nomination by a State or Territory government under a State Migration Plan,
or an eligible relative, to a designated area for a Skilled Nominated or Sponsored
visa (Provisional) (Subclass 489) application
• 10

Pass Mark

Applicants must score a minimum of 60 points to gain a visa under the General Skilled Migration program.

Further Information, Help, and Advice

If you are an ICT professional with non-ICT qualifications, then you need RPL(Recognition of Prior of Learning) to submit ACS for your skill assessment then you can apply for a skilled migration visa. has years of experience helping people immigrate to Australia by providing assistance to migrate and guaranteed RPL for the positive assessment.

Scroll to Top