General Skilled Migration Visas 189/190/489/491/887/191

HomeBlogSkill AssessmentGeneral Skilled Migration Visa...

General Skilled Migration Visas 189/190/489/491/887/191

Skilled Migration Visa

Candidates who have skills in demand may be qualified to apply for a skilled visa. Employer sponsorship does not apply to Skilled Visas. Requirements for general skilled migration include qualifications, work experience, English skills, and satisfaction of the points test criteria. It is essential to note that the requirements differ depending on the situation.  

 The General Skilled Migration Visa is the most usual visa program for overseas professionals, managers, tradespersons, international graduates in Australia who can apply for this visa. The most common visa subclass are:

  1. Subclass 189 Skilled Independent
  2. Subclass 190 Skilled Nominated
  3. Skilled Regional Visa Subclass 191
  4. Subclass 491 Skilled Work Regional

Subclass 489 Skilled Regional (Provisional) is applicable from 16 November 2019.

What Are The Criteria For A Skilled Migration Visa?

To apply for Skilled Migration Visas, you need to meet the following conditions.

Applicable from 1 July 2021, all candidates interested in applying for GSM visas need to submit an Expression of Interest(EOI) and receive an Invitation to apply for ITA before starting with the visa application. There are particular subclass necessities to be met:

General Skilled Migration

Application Process

You need to provide the following documents for the application process

Note that skill assessment is the simplified steps. So, prepare and provide the proper documents and information as required. It helps to smoothen the application processing time.

How can work visa lawyers help?

 Work Visa Lawyers are highly qualified in all parts of the General Skilled Migration (GSM) Visa Applications. They can assist in all aspects of the application, also helps in resolving complications:

General Skilled Migration (GSM) Subclasses 189, 190, and 491 replace the 489, the most popular way for skilled migration to Australia. General Skilled Migration is a point-based visa. The points are calculated from age, English language score, qualifications, work experience, and other abilities of individuals.

Types Of Visa Subclass For General Skilled Migration   

1. Skilled Independent Subclass 189 (Permanent ) Visa

This independent Subclass 189 visa can be granted based on the visa candidate’s benefits based on a points-based system, and there is no requirement for sponsorship. To be qualified for this kind of visa, you need to have:

Application Process for General Skilled Migration

2. Skilled Regional Provisional Subclass

Notice: From 15 November 2019, the Subclass Visa invited pathway visa was closed to new applications and replaced by Subclass 491.

This visa is valid for four years, but it only allows the visa holder to live, work or study regional areas of Australia. This visa needs that you are sponsored by an Australian relative that lives in Regional Australia or by a state or territory government. To be qualified for the skilled regional provisional subclass, you need to have:

To get a Subclass 489 Visa, you need to be sponsored by relative lying in the nominated area. Your reactive sponsor needs to be an Australian citizen, permanent resident, or eligible New Zealand Citizen. First Parents, Brother or Sister, Uncle or Aunt, Nephew or Niece, First Cousin, or Grandparent can sponsor you for the Subclass 489 Visa.  

A relative sponsor, the significant Medium and Long-term Strategic Skill List (MLTSSL), is similar to Subclass 189 Visa. It is necessary to lodge an Expression of Interest (EOI) to apply for subclass 489. And once you receive your invitation, you have 60 days to lodge a valid application.  

You also can include family members in your application like Spouse, Wife, Mother, Father, dependent children up to the age of 23 years, de facto partner, and others. However, there are some limitations.

Once a visa is granted, you and your included family members can live, work, and study in the regional area. The accepted regional areas differ depending on whether you are sponsored by a State or Territory Government or relative.

State or Territory Government: You can live in a regional area or low population growth area.

Relative: You need to live in the nominated area.

3. Skilled Regional Subclass 887

Skilled Regional Subclass 887 is the permanent stage of the Subclass 489 Visa. To be eligible for a Skilled Regional Visa, you need to live in Australia for 2 years. You have to live and work full time for at least 12 months.

Cost: The visa application charge for general skilled migration primary visa applicants is $4,044, the secondary (adult) applicant costs $2025, and secondary(child) applicants $1010 till now. This cost is updated on 1 July 2020). 

Skilled Migration Points Test  

GSM Visas need to have a minimum score of 65 points. This point is calculated by:

Conditions for General Skilled Migration

Note that the GSM points eligibility system was changed in November 2019, and some visas were replaced, and the points system differs slightly.

GSM Points Test Changes

These new modifications to the GSM point test came into effect on 16 November 2019. New additions include: 

1. Study in a regional area

Studying in a regional area comprises 5 points. It does not apply to those students who have undergone distance education. But the candidates have to live in a particular area; the campus also has to be in nominated regional areas. The candidates also need to meet the Australian study requisites.

2. Partners points

The partner’s points will increase by 5 to 10 points. It will be granted to Australian citizens or Australian Permanent Resident. 5 points will be granted to partners of applicants who is an applicant of the same visa. A non- Australian citizen has to submit a Competent English Test for 5 points. 

3. Sponsored 491 Visa

State sponsors 491 Visa, Territory government, or an eligible relative will increase points from 10 to 15 points. 

Subclass 489 Visa replaced by Subclass 491- Skilled Work Regional (Provisional) Visa.

It comes into existence from 2019, 16 November. 489 Visa is closed and replaced by new 491 visas take its place. The new visa will be listed as a General Skilled Migration(GSM) Visa.

Features Of The Subclass 491 Visa Contains The Following Points

New visa conditions need to be forced on all visa holders, including:

Form 8578: Inform Immigration within 14 days of any change to the visa holder’s house location or address, email address, phone number, passport details, address of the employee, or address or location of a position  

Form 8579: Applicants need to live, work and study in a particular regional area registered at the time the visa was granted

Form 8580: If requested, provide proof to Immigration within 28 days after the date of request of any or all of their: domestic addresses, address of each employer, address of each location of each position employed, or address of an educational institutional institution they attended

Form 8581: If requested, attend an interview with Immigration. If the visa is permitted, it will be valid for 5 years. 

Looking For Help?

Are you confused about which visa types do you fit in? Don’t worry expert team of ACSRPLAustralia is ready to help you. We provide on-time delivery with 100% genuine advice. It helps you to migrate to Australia and  settle here permanently. 

Comments are closed.